Boccherini Minuet (Suzuki Book 2)

The last piece in the Suzuki Book 2 is Minuet by Boccherini.
In the Shinozaki Violin Method, this piece is introduced in Volume 3, using grace notes and harmonics (third position).

About Boccherini and this work

Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805) is an Italian composer and cellist of the same era as Haydn and Mozart.
He was a very good cellist himself, so he composed cello concertos, cello sonatas, and also more than 100 string quintets (which is a string quartet with one more cello) and of course, he was playing them himself.

This Minuet is the 3rd movement of the string quintet (= cello quintet), opus 275, which was written in 1775. It is a masterpiece of Boccherini, and it is very often performed alone.

The Minuet is a dance in 3/4 time.

Moderato e grazioso means:
Moderato = moderately, not too fast
e = and
grazioso = gracefully

In other words, let’s play elegantly without playing too fast.

Let’s start practicing together

I highly recommend that you practice the A Major and D Major scales first, then work on this Minuet.

This time, I made an arrangement for 3 violins based on the piano accompaniment, and played it in 3 different tempos ( or ‘tempi’): quarter notes = 84, 70, 63 with metronome. Please use the one that suits you, and enjoy practicing !

This Youtube channel provides many videos which can support your home practice of Suzuki Books, Shinozaki Violin Method, and more. If the video helps you in any way, please click the “like” button and subscribe to my channel. I look forward to working with you all 😊

Happy Practicing !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *